Our Hell


~ Today Is The Day :: I Am Inundated By Men Wearing Blazers and Jeans
October 9, 2008, 9:14 am
Filed under: Today is the Day | Tags: , ,

So, I’ve been here in Germany since Monday.  I am at Popkomm in Berlin, representing the company I work for, ArtistXite.

 

Things that I have noticed:

  • Planes are awesome.  Take-off is the most fun thing I have done that I didn’t have to pay for and that involved me being fully clothed.

 

 

Hamburg

  • Hamburg seems to be one of the most beautiful places ever.
  • All of the garbage cans have funny sayings on them.
  • I didn’t know that Hamburg is full of canals and bridges.
  •  I have never seen such expensive clothing.
  • Vegan food is near impossible to find.
  • I don’t know if it was because of the person driving or not but I didn’t think that there would be so much slowing down on the Autobahn.
  • There are very few coniferous trees in between Hamburg and Berlin.
  • There is so much greenery everywhere.
  •  

Berlin

  • Berlin is fucking huge.
  • Popkomm is in West Berlin, our hotel is in East Berlin.  There have been many long but interesting drives.
  • There are sooooo many Thai/Chinese restaurants in Berlin.
  • It is very strange to drive down the streets that Hitler used to hold parades.
  • It is very difficult to take pictures out of a moving car and I have not been able to get out and explore.
  • Consequently, I have not been able to shop.  By the time we get back to the hotel, it is dark and everything but booze stores and drug stores is closed.
  • Tea tree oil is ridiculously cheap here.
  • Many women wear skirts/dresses over pants.  I thought it was just a Halifax thing.
  • Men here love scarves.  I should find it pretentious but I just find it hot.
  • Why are things so expensive?
  • Being here has cemented in my mind that I need to get a haircut.
  • Germans do not want you to call home.  I have been looking since I got here and cannot find anywhere to buy a physical phone card.
  • Showers are awesome, toilets are weird and unsettling.
  • This building looks like an alien mother ship.
  • People don’t care what you dress like here.  No one looks twice at the dude with all of his hair shaved off except for two small dyed-red horns or the woman wearing less clothing than the sluttiest girl at the skankiest bar you can think of.
  • There are so many boots over jeans here.  My ex laughed at me when I did it.  Now I can tell him that I was meant to be European.
  • I don’t feel weird here at all.  Everything feels normal and natural.  Even my love of wearing nothing but black feels comfortable for once and at least 40% of chicks here agree with my mentality.  
  • My boss makes me hang out with him all day.  I need to take a vacation when I get back just to have some alone time. 
  • The best ginger tea is here in Berlin
PopKomm
  • Judging by the booths, France loves its musicians most and Canadians love theirs least.
  • If you give away free beer, everyone loves whatever you’re offering.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

